Skip to content

Date Move Of The Week – Couples Retreat

October 23, 2009

The only types of dates you should accompany to Couples Retreat are: The ones that are dragging you there, the ones that like to fool around in movies rather than watch them or the ones you want to torture before you never call them again.  The reviews for this movie are so bad, I don’t want to risk seeing it and judging for myself… and that’s saying a lot considering my fondness for the actors.

As a longtime fan of both John Favreau and Vince Vaughn, hearing mixed reviews about anything they do is disappointing.  When I was in University learning about the ways of the world, they were there for me in Swingers to offer guidance and advice. Then Vince’s career took him to star in features like Old School, Wedding Crashers, Dodgeball, Anchorman: The Legend Of Ron Burgandy and Starsky & Hutch. My life as a young, reasonably successful but slightly immature guy finally had the mentor for which it was searching.

Ten years later (and to my mother’s disappointment), I’m still a fan of their work, single and telling close friends about parties in the hills that are going to have beautiful babies.

It’s for that reason that I just can’t bring myself to talk about Couples Retreat or paste quotes. If my mother had been born in my generation, she would have told me that if I didn’t have anything nice to paste, I should keep my clicks to myself.  With that in mind, I’m putting only a few reviews below and quietly hoping that the movie continues to do reasonably well at the box office:

Rotten Tomatoes has given it an 11% approval rating. Rolling Stone gave it 1 out of 4 stars (even while their readers gave it 3 / 4), The Globe & Mail gave it 1 / 4 stars.

Comments are closed.

